

Press Release

For Immediate Release

November 10, 2004

Contact: Jay Hyde or Rob Va

or Rob Valero (202) 739-9400 1-800-3NAREIT

NAREIT ELECTS LEADERSHIP FOR 2004-2005

Simon to Serve as Chair

Washington, D.C. — The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts® (NAREIT) has elected its 2004-2005 officers, members of its executive committee and new members of its board of governors.

Elected chair was David E. Simon, CEO, Simon Property Group, (NYSE: SPG), Indianapolis, IN.

Elected **first vice chair** was R. Scot Sellers, chairman and CEO, Archstone-Smith (NYSE: ASN), Englewood, CO.

Elected **second vice chair** was Arthur M. Coppola, president and CEO, The Macerich Company, (NYSE: MAC), Santa Monica, CA.

Elected **treasurer** was Christopher J. Nassetta, president and CEO, Host Marriott Corporation, (NYSE: HMT), Bethesda, MD.

Elected to the **executive committee** were: Thomas D. Bell, Jr., president and CEO, Cousins Properties, Inc., (NYSE: CUZ), Atlanta, GA; John Bucksbaum, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc., (NYSE: GGP), Chicago, IL; Thomas A. Carr, chairman and CEO, CarrAmerica Realty Corporation (NYSE: CRE), Washington, DC; Debra A. Cafaro, chairman, president and CEO, Ventas, Inc., (NYSE: VTR), Louisville, KY; Bruce W. Duncan, president and CEO, Equity Residential, (NYSE: EQR), Chicago, IL; Peter S. Lowy, joint-CEO, Westfield Group, Los Angeles, CA; Nelson C. Rising, chairman and CEO, Catellus Development Corporation, (NYSE: CDX), San Francisco, CA; Glenn Rufrano, CEO, New Plan, (NYSE: NXL), New York, NY; and Martin E. Stein, Jr., chairman and CEO, Regency Centers Corporation, (NYSE: REG), Jacksonville, FL.

Also serving on the executive committee are past chairs Hamid R. Moghadam, chairman and CEO, AMB Property Corporation, (NYSE: AMB), San Francisco, CA, and Steven Roth, chairman and CEO, Vornado Realty Trust, (NYSE: VNO), New York, NY.

(more)

Elected to the **board of governors** were: Bryce Blair, chairman, president and CEO, AvalonBay Communities, Inc., (NYSE: AVB), Alexandria, VA; Jon E. Bortz, chairman, president and CEO, LaSalle Hotel Properties, (NYSE: LHO), Bethesda, MD.; Debra A. Cafaro, chairman, president and CEO, Ventas, Inc., (NYSE: VTR), Louisville, KY; Timothy H. Callahan, president and CEO, Trizec Properties, Inc., (NYSE: TRZ), Chicago, IL; Richard B. Clark, president and CEO, Brookfield Properties Corporation, (NYSE: BPO), New York, NY; Arthur M. Coppola, president and CEO, The Macerich Company, (NYSE: MAC), Santa Monica, CA; Gordon F. DuGan, president and Co-CEO, W. P. Carey & Co. LLC, (NYSE: WPC), New York, NY; Michael A.J. Farrell, chairman, president and CEO, Annaly Mortgage Management, Inc., (NYSE: NLY), New York, NY; James F. Flaherty, III, chairman and CEO, Health Care Property Investors, Inc., (NYSE: HCP), Newport Beach, CA; William P. Hankowsky, chairman, president and CEO, Liberty Property Trust, (NYSE: LRY), Malvern, PA; Ronald L. Havner, president and COO, Public Storage, Inc., (NYSE: PSA), Glendale, CA; Mitchell E. Hersh, CEO, Mack-Cali Realty Corporation, (NYSE: CLI), Cranford, NJ; Rick R. Holley, president and CEO, Plum Creek Timber Company, Inc., (NYSE: PCL), Seattle, WA; Richard D. Kincaid, president and CEO, Equity Office Properties Trust, (NYSE: EOP), Chicago, IL; Constance B. Moore, president and COO, BRE Properties, Inc., (NYSE: BRE), San Francisco, CA; Dennis D. Oklak, president and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation, (NYSE: DRE), Indianapolis, IN; Edward J. Pettinella, president and CEO, Home Properties, Inc., (NYSE: HME), Rochester, NY; Michael E. Pralle, president and CEO, GE Real Estate, (NYSE: GE), Stamford, CT; Martin E. (Hap) Stein, Jr., chairman and CEO, Regency Centers Corporation, (NYSE: REG), Jacksonville, FL; Thomas W. Toomey, president and CEO, United Dominion Realty Trust, (NYSE: UDR), Littleton, CO; Scott A. Wolstein, chairman and CEO, Developers Diversified Realty Corporation, (NYSE: DDR), Beachwood, OH; and Richard S. Ziman, chairman and CEO, Arden Realty, Inc. (NYSE: ARI), Los Angeles, CA.

Continuing their terms as members of the NAREIT board of governors are: Andrew M. Alexander, president and CEO, Weingarten Realty Investors, (NYSE: WRI), Houston, TX; Thomas F. August, president and CEO, Prentiss Properties Trust, (NYSE: PP), Dallas, TX; Thomas D. Bell, Jr., president and CEO, Cousins Properties Incorporated, (NYSE: CUZ), Atlanta, GA; K. Dane Brooksher, chairman and CEO, ProLogis, (NYSE: PLD), Aurora, CO; John Bucksbaum, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc., (NYSE: GGP), Chicago, IL; Richard J. Campo, chairman and CEO, Camden Property Trust, (NYSE: CPT), Houston, TX; Thomas A. Carr, chairman and CEO, CarrAmerica Realty Corporation, (NYSE: CRE), Washington, DC; Terry M. Considine, chairman and CEO, AIMCO, (NYSE: AIV), Denver, CO; Edmund B. Cronin, Jr., chairman, president and CEO, Washington Real Estate Investment Trust, (NYSE: WRE), Rockville, MD; Bruce W. Duncan, president and CEO, Equity Residential, (NYSE: EQR), Chicago, IL; Thomas D. Eckert, president and CEO, Capital Automotive REIT, (NYSE: CARS), McLean, VA; John C. Goff, vice chairman and CEO, Crescent Real Estate Equities Company, (NYSE: CEI), Fort Worth, TX; Peter S. Lowy, joint-CEO, Westfield Group, (ASX: WFA), Los Angeles, CA; Hamid R. Moghadam, chairman and CEO, AMB Property Corporation, (NYSE: AMB), San Francisco, CA; Christopher J. Nassetta, president and CEO, Host Marriott Corporation, (NYSE: HMT), Bethesda, MD; Scott Rechler, president and CEO, Reckson Associates Realty Corp., (NYSE: RA), Melville, NY;

Nelson C. Rising, chairman and CEO, Catellus Development Corporation, (NYSE: CDX), San Francisco, CA; Steven G. Rogers, president and CEO, Parkway Properties, Inc., (NYSE: PKY), Jackson, MS; Steven Roth, chairman and CEO, Vornado Realty Trust, (NYSE: VNO), New York, NY; Glenn J. Rufrano, CEO, New Plan, (NYSE: NXL), New York, NY; William D. Sanders, co-chairman, Verde Realty, El Paso, TX.; R. Scot Sellers, chairman and CEO, Archstone-Smith, (NYSE: ASN), Englewood, CO; David E. Simon, CEO, Simon Property Group, (NYSE: SPG), Indianapolis, IN; Garrett Thornburg, chairman and CEO, Thornburg Mortgage, Inc., (NYSE: TMA), Santa Fe, NM; Chris D. Wheeler, chairman and CEO, Gables Residential Trust, (NYSE: GBP), Boca Raton, FL; and Donald C. Wood, president and CEO, Federal Realty Investment Trust, (NYSE: FRT), Rockville, MD.

###

The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts® (NAREIT) is the trade association for REITs and publicly traded real estate companies. Members are real estate investment trusts (REITs) and other businesses that own, operate and finance income-producing real estate, as well as those firms and individuals who advise, study and service those businesses. Visit our Web sites at www.nareit.com and www.investinreits.com.

NAREIT does not intend this press release to be a solicitation related to any particular company, nor does it intend to provide investment, legal or tax advice. Investors should consult with their own investment, legal or tax advisers regarding the appropriateness of investing in any of the securities or investment strategies discussed in this publication. Nothing herein should be construed to be an endorsement by NAREIT of any specific company or products or as an offer to sell or a solicitation to buy any security or other financial instrument or to participate in any trading strategy. NAREIT expressly disclaims any liability for the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of data in this publication. Unless otherwise indicated, all data are derived from, and apply only to, publicly traded securities. Any investment returns or performance data (past, hypothetical, or otherwise) are not necessarily indicative of future returns or performance.