## PRESS RELEASE



For Immediate Release October 25, 2005

**Contact:** Jay Hyde

or Rob Valero (202) 739-9400 1-800-3NAREIT

## NAREIT ELECTS LEADERSHIP FOR 2006

Sellers to Serve as Chair

NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION

OF

REAL ESTATE

INVESTMENT

TRUSTS®

**Washington, D.C.** — The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts<sup>®</sup> (NAREIT<sup>®</sup>) has elected its 2006 officers, members of its executive committee and new members of its board of governors.

Elected **chair** was R. Scot Sellers, chairman and CEO, Archstone-Smith (NYSE: ASN), Englewood, Colo.

Elected **first vice chair** was Arthur M. Coppola, president and CEO, The Macerich Company, (NYSE: MAC), Santa Monica, Calif.

Elected **second vice chair** was Christopher J. Nassetta, president and CEO, Host Marriott Corporation, (NYSE: HMT), Bethesda, Md.

Elected **treasurer** was Thomas A. Carr, chairman and CEO, CarrAmerica Realty Corporation (NYSE: CRE), Washington, D.C.

Elected to the **executive committee** were: Bryce Blair, chairman and CEO, AvalonBay Communities, Inc., (NYSE: AVB), Alexandria, Va.; John Bucksbaum, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc., (NYSE: GGP), Chicago; Debra A. Cafaro, chairman, president and CEO, Ventas, Inc., (NYSE: VTR), Louisville, Ky.; Peter S. Lowy, joint-CEO, The Westfield Group, (ASX: WDC), Los Angeles; Constance B. Moore, president and CEO, BRE Properties, Inc., (NYSE: BRE), San Francisco; Jeffrey H. Schwartz, CEO, ProLogis, (NYSE: PLD), Aurora, Calif.; Martin E. Stein, Jr., chairman and CEO, Regency Centers Corporation, (NYSE: REG), Jacksonville, Fla.; Scott A. Wolstein, chairman and CEO, Developers Diversified Realty Corporation, (NYSE: DDR), Beachwood, Ohio; and, Richard S. Ziman, chairman and CEO, Arden Realty, Inc. (NYSE: ARI), Los Angeles.

Also serving on the executive committee are past chairs David E. Simon, CEO, Simon Property Group, (NYSE: SPG), Indianapolis, and Hamid R. Moghadam, chairman and CEO, AMB Property Corporation, (NYSE: AMB), San Francisco.

(more)



Elected to the **board of governors** were: Andrew M. Alexander, president and CEO, Weingarten Realty Investors, (NYSE: WRI), Houston; David M. Brain, president and CEO, Entertainment Properties Trust, (NYSE: EPR), Kansas City, Mo.; Robert K. Cole, chairman and CEO, New Century Financial Corporation, (NYSE: NEW), Irvine, Calif.; Arthur M. Coppola, president and CEO, The Macerich Company, (NYSE: MAC); Charles B. Lebovitz, chairman and CEO, CBL & Associates Properties, Inc., (NYSE: CBL), Chattanooga, Tenn.; Christopher J. Nassetta, president and CEO, Host Marriott Corporation, (NYSE: HMT); David J. Neithercut, president, Equity Residential, (NYSE: EQR), Chicago; Charles A. Ratner, president and CEO, Forest City Enterprises, Inc., (NYSE:FCE.A), Cleveland: Scott Rechler, chairman, president and CEO, Reckson Associates Realty Corp., (NYSE: RA), Melville, N.Y.; Nicholas S. Schorsch, vice chairman, president, and CEO, American Financial Realty Trust, (NYSE: AFR), Jenkintown, Pa.; R. Scot Sellers, chairman and CEO, Archstone-Smith, (NYSE: ASN); Laurence C. Siegel, chairman and CEO, The Mills Corporation, (NYSE: MLS), Arlington, Va.; Martin E. Stein, Jr., chairman and CEO, Regency Centers Corporation, (NYSE: REG); Jay Sugarman, chairman and CEO, iStar Financial Inc., (NYSE: SFI), New York; Robert S. Taubman, chairman, president, and CEO, Taubman Centers, Inc. (NYSE: TCO), Bloomfield Hills, Mich.; and, Garrett Thornburg, chairman and CEO, Thornburg Mortgage, Inc., (NYSE: TMA), Santa Fe, N.M.

Continuing their terms as members of the board of governors are: Thomas F. August, president and CEO, Prentiss Properties Trust, (NYSE: PP), Dallas; Bryce Blair, chairman and CEO, AvalonBay Communities, Inc., (NYSE: AVB); Jon E. Bortz, chairman, president and CEO, LaSalle Hotel Properties, (NYSE: LHO), Bethesda, Md.; John Bucksbaum, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc., (NYSE: GGP); Debra A. Cafaro, chairman, president and CEO, Ventas, Inc., (NYSE: VTR); Timothy H. Callahan, president and CEO, Trizec Properties, Inc., (NYSE: TRZ), Chicago; Richard J. Campo, chairman and CEO, Camden Property Trust, (NYSE: CPT), Houston; Thomas A. Carr, chairman and CEO, CarrAmerica Realty Corporation, (NYSE: CRE); Richard B. Clark, president and CEO, Brookfield Properties Corporation, (NYSE: BPO), New York; Terry M. Considine, chairman, president and CEO, Apartment Investment & Management Company, (NYSE: AIV), Denver, Colo.; Gordon F. DuGan, president and CEO, W. P. Carey & Co. LLC, (NYSE: WPC), New York; Michael A.J. Farrell, chairman, president and CEO, Annaly Mortgage Management, Inc., (NYSE: NLY), New York; James F. Flaherty, III, chairman, president and CEO, Health Care Property Investors, Inc., (NYSE: HCP), Long Beach, Calif.; William P. Hankowsky, chairman, president and CEO, Liberty Property Trust, (NYSE: LRY), Malvern, Pa.; Ronald L. Havner, vice chairman and CEO, Public Storage, Inc., (NYSE: PSA), Glendale, Calif.; Mitchell E. Hersh, president and CEO, Mack-Cali Realty Corporation, (NYSE: CLI), Cranford, N.J.; Rick R. Holley, president and CEO, Plum Creek Timber Company, Inc., (NYSE: PCL), Seattle, Wash.; Richard D. Kincaid, president and CEO, Equity Office Properties Trust, (NYSE: EOP), Chicago; Peter S. Lowy, joint-CEO, The Westfield Group, (ASX: WDC); Hamid R. Moghadam, chairman and CEO, AMB Property Corporation, (NYSE: AMB); Constance B. Moore, president and CEO, BRE Properties, Inc., (NYSE: BRE); Dennis D. Oklak, chairman, president and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation, (NYSE: DRE), Indianapolis; Edward J. Pettinella, president and CEO, Home Properties, Inc., (NYSE: HME), Rochester, N.Y.; Michael E. Pralle, president and CEO, GE Commercial Finance Real Estate, (NYSE: GE), Stamford, Conn.; Steven G. Rogers, president and CEO, Parkway Properties, Inc., (NYSE: PKY), Jackson, Miss.; Steven Roth, chairman and CEO, Vornado Realty Trust, (NYSE: VNO), New York;

(more)

Jeffrey H. Schwartz, CEO, ProLogis, (NYSE: PLD); David E. Simon, CEO, Simon Property Group, (NYSE: SPG); Thomas W. Toomey, president and CEO, United Dominion Realty Trust, (NYSE: UDR), Littleton, Colo.; Scott A. Wolstein, chairman and CEO, Developers Diversified Realty Corporation, (NYSE: DDR); Donald C. Wood, president and CEO, Federal Realty Investment Trust, (NYSE: FRT), Rockville, Md.; and, Richard S. Ziman, chairman and CEO, Arden Realty, Inc. (NYSE: ARI).

###

The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts® (NAREIT®) is the representative voice for U.S. real estate investment trusts (REITs) and publicly traded real estate companies worldwide. Members are REITs and other businesses that own, operate and finance income-producing real estate, as well as those firms and individuals who advise, study and service those businesses. Visit our Web sites at <a href="https://www.nareit.com">www.nareit.com</a> and <a href="https://www.nareits.com">www.investinreits.com</a>.

NAREIT does not intend this press release to be a solicitation related to any particular company, nor does it intend to provide investment, legal or tax advice. Investors should consult with their own investment, legal or tax advisers regarding the appropriateness of investing in anyof the securities or investment strategies discussed in this publication. Nothing herein should be construed to be an endorsement by NAREIT of any specific company or products or as an offer to sell or a solicitation to buy any security or other financial instrument or to participate in any trading strategy. NAREIT expressly disclaims any liability for the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of data in this publication. Unless otherwise indicated, all data are derived from, and apply only to, publicly traded securities. All values are unaudited and subject to revision. Any investment returns or performance data (past, hypothetical, or otherwise) are not necessarily indicative of future returns or performance.