Nareit’s Diversity Impact Awards recognize REITs that take intentional approaches to implementing, measuring, and scaling innovative social responsibility policies and practices within their companies and across supply chains, ultimately having a positive effect on the communities they serve.

Nareit Diversity Impact Awards

2024 application now open

The annual Nareit Diversity Impact Awards celebrate the dedication and progress of REIT member companies advancing a range of social responsibility initiatives.

Changes in 2024

  • New honoree levels: Shifting away from gold, silver, bronze award levels toward levels organized by company asset size—specifically small cap, mid cap, and large cap REITs; one honoree per size.
  • No individual awards: Eligibility for application is limited to Nareit corporate member REITs. Recognition will be solely attributed to the company, and individual employees will not be recognized—only the company.
  • New awards timeline: Recipients will be honored at Nareit’s REITworks: 2024 Sustainability & Social Responsibility Conference taking place in September in McLean, VA. They also will be acknowledged at Nareit’s REITworld: 2024 Annual Conference in November in Las Vegas.

The deadline to apply is Friday, June 7, 2024. Plan ahead by reviewing the 2024 application and start preparing your responses.

Informational Meeting


Learn more about the awards eligibility, process changes, and what makes a strong application from HR and diversity experts. Watch the recording of the informational meeting.


Only Nareit corporate members are eligible to win the Diversity Impact Award. Any staff member of the company may submit the application, and member companies must be in good standing with Nareit at the time the awards are presented at the REITworks Conference, taking place Sept. 10–12, 2024.

For the Diversity Impact Awards, the company application consists of 22 questions—including short answers, yes/no, and multiple choice—focused on organizational structure and policies, workforce development, and procurement practices. Each question is assigned a specific point value, based on a weighted custom score guide. Nareit uses the expertise and guidance of industry and diversity practitioners to evaluate each Diversity Impact Awards application. All applications are independently reviewed and identifying information is redacted.

Apply today

Contact Afia Boone, Nareit vice president for social responsibility and industry affairs, for assistance.

2023 Nareit DEI Award Winners

The 2023 Corporate Award winners are:

Gold: Ventas, Inc. (NYSE: VTR)

Silver: Equinix, Inc. (NYSE: EQIX)

Bronze: Veris Residential, Inc. (NYSE: VRE)

The 2023 Individual Award winner is:

Thomas A. Bartlett, President & CEO, American Tower Corporation (NYSE: AMT)

Past award winners