06/06/2013 | by
Article Author(s)

The winners of NAREIT’s 2013 Investor CARE Awards were announced on June 6 in Chicago at REITWeek 2013: NAREIT’s Investor Forum. It marked the 13th year that NAREIT has handed out the annual awards, which honor excellence in communications and reporting to shareholders.

Steve Wechsler, NAREIT’s president and CEO, announced the companies that had been recognized for their annual reports and websites.

The Gold Award in the “Annual Report - Management Discussion and Analysis” category went to Home Properties Trust (NYSE: HME). The Silver Award was given to SL Green Realty Corp. (NYSE: SLG) and the Bronze Award went to First Potomac Realty Trust (NYSE: FPO).

In the “Annual Report - Presentation and Design” category, Camden Property Trust (NYSE: CPT) received the Gold Award. The Silver Award went to Health Care REIT, Inc. (NYSE: HCN). Duke Realty Corp. (NYSE: DRE) won the Bronze Award.

Camden Property Trust is celebrating its 20th year as a public company, and Kim Callahan, senior vice president of investor relations, said the latest annual report was created to recognize the anniversary.

“We always tried to keep our annual report a little outside of the box and do something a little different and keep it fresh, especially at this point in the game as our annual report has gone from a very large text and narrative type of document into basically a very long financial SEC document,” she said.

The Gold Award in the “Website” category went to Kimco Realty Corporation (NYSE: KIM). The Silver Award went to American Tower Corporation (NYSE: AMT), while Campus Crest Communities, Inc. (NYSE: CCG) received the Bronze Award.

“When we set out to redesign our website some time ago, we knew it didn’t just have to look pretty. It also had to be functionally operational and user friendly,” said David Bujnicki, Kimco’s vice president of investor relations and corporate communications.

The NAREIT CARE Awards are judged by an independent panel of REIT securities analysts and portfolio managers.

This year’s judges included: Dave Aubuchon, research analyst, Kennedy Capital Management; the Chilton REIT team of Bruce G. Garrison, managing director, and Matthew R. Werner, portfolio manager and analyst; Eden Levinson, senior vice president, Harrison Street Securities, LLC; Keven Lindemann, director-real estate group, SNL Financial LLC; Neil Malkin, associate-REIT Equity Research, U.S. Apartments, Lodging & Self Storage, RBC Capital Markets; and the ICR team of Brad Cohen, senior managing director, Shannon Devine, senior associate, Kara Guaraldi, senior vice president, Taylor Krafchik, associate, Rodny Nacier, senior vice president, Jeremy Pinchot, senior vice president, Steve Swett, managing director, and Nikki Sacks, managing director.