11/07/2013 | by
Article Author(s)

The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT) has announced the election of its 2014 leadership team, as well as the members of its Executive Board, Board of Governors, and Audit and Investment Committee.

Ronald Havner Jr., chairman and CEO of Public Storage (NYSE: PSA), was elected NAREIT chair for 2014, succeeding  NAREIT’s 2013 chair, W. Edward Walter, president and CEO of Host Hotels & Resorts (NYSE: HST).

“I am honored to serve as NAREIT’s chair for 2014,” Havner said. “I am looking forward to building on the strong foundation established by Ed Walter and all of the prior NAREIT chairs who have served the REIT industry so well,” he added.

Other NAREIT officers for 2014 are First Vice Chair David Neithercut, president and CEO of Equity Residential (NYSE: EQR); Second Vice Chair David Henry, vice chairman, president and CEO of Kimco Realty Corporation (NYSE: KIM); and Treasurer Edward Fritsch, president and CEO of Highwoods Properties, Inc. (NYSE: HIW). All of NAREIT’s officers are also members of its Executive Board.

Members of NAREIT’s 2014 Executive Board are: Thomas Baltimore, president and CEO of RLJ Lodging Trust (NYSE: RLJ); Richard Campo, chairman and CEO, Camden Property Trust (NYSE:CPT); George Chapman, chairman and CEO, Health Care REIT, Inc. (NYSE: HCN); Wellington Denahan, chairman and CEO, Annaly Capital Management, Inc. (NYSE: NLY); Rick Holley, CEO, Plum Creek Timber Company, Inc. (NYSE: PCL); Daniel Hurwitz, CEO, DDR Corp.(NYSE:DDR); Timothy Naughton, chairman and CEO, AvalonBay Communities, Inc. (NYSE: AVB); Dennis Oklak, chairman and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation (NYSE: DRE); Robert Taubman, chairman, president and CEO, Taubman Centers, Inc. (NYSE:TCO); W. Edward Walter, president and CEO, Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc. (NYSE: HST); and Donald Wood, president and CEO, Federal Realty Investment Trust (NYSE: FRT).