NAREIT has announced the election of its 2016 officers, as well as the members of its Executive Board, Board of Governors, and Audit and Investment Committee.

NAREIT’s new Chair is Edward Fritsch, president and CEO of Highwoods Properties, Inc.  (NYSE: HIW). Fritsch takes over from NAREIT’s 2015 Chair, David Neithercut, president and CEO of Equity Residential (NYSE: EQR).

Other NAREIT officers for 2016 are First Vice Chair Timothy Naughton, chairman and CEO of AvalonBay Communities, Inc. (NYSE: AVB); Second Vice Chair Thomas Baltimore Jr., president and CEO, RLJ Lodging Trust (NYSE: RLJ); and Treasurer Sandeep Mathrani, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc. (NYSE: GGP). All of NAREIT’s officers are also members of its Executive Board.

Also serving on NAREIT’s 2016 Executive Board are: Michael Glimcher, vice chairman and CEO of WP Glimcher (NYSE: WPG); Philip Hawkins, CEO, DCT Industrial Trust Inc. (NYSE: DCT); Lauralee Martin, president and CEO, HCP, Inc. (NYSE: HCP); W. Benjamin Moreland, president and CEO, Crown Castle International Corp. (NYSE: CCI); Dennis Oklak, chairman and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation (NYSE: DRE); Doyle Simons, president and CEO, Weyerhaeuser (NYSE: WY); A. William Stein, CEO, Digital Realty (NYSE: DLR); Robert Taubman, chairman, president and CEO, Taubman Centers, Inc. (NYSE: TCO); and Owen Thomas, CEO, Boston Properties, Inc. (NYSE: BXP).  Serving on the 2016 Executive Board as past chairs are Ronald Havner, Jr., chairman, CEO and president, Public Storage (NYSE: PSA) and Neithercut.

Serving on NAREIT’s 2016 Audit and Investment Committee are: Committee Chair Michael Barnello, president and CEO, LaSalle Hotel Properties (NYSE: LHO); Michael Schall, president and CEO, Essex Property Trust, Inc. (NYSE: ESS); and Mathrani, who will be  serving in an ex-officio capacity as NAREIT’s 2016 Treasurer.