11/03/2017 | by
Thomas J. Baltimore Jr.
2018 Nareit Chair Thomas J. Baltimore Jr.

Nareit corporate members recently elected Nareit's 2018 Officers and other members of its Executive Board, effective Nov. 1, 2017. The results of the election were consistent with the final slate of recommendations that the Nareit Governance Committee made and in accordance with Nareit's bylaws.

The Nareit's 2018 Executive Board also recently elected the members of Nareit's 2018 Advisory Board of Governors and the members of Nareit's 2018 Audit and Investment Committee, effective Nov. 1, 2017. The results of the election were also consistent with the final slate of recommendations made by the Nareit Governance Committee.

Nareit's 2017 Governance Committee consisted of the following individuals: Timothy J. Naughton (Chair), AvalonBay Communities, Inc.; Jon E. Bortz, Pebblebrook Hotel Trust; James B. Connor, Duke Realty Corporation; Michael J. Schall, Essex Property Trust, Inc.; and A. William Stein, Digital Realty.

Elected as Officers and Members of the 2018 Executive Board:

Chair: Thomas J. Baltimore, Jr.
Chairman, President & CEO
Park Hotels & Resorts

First Vice Chair: Sandeep Mathrani
GGP Inc.

Second Vice Chair: Owen D. Thomas
Boston Properties, Inc.

Treasurer: A. William Stein
Digital Realty

Elected as Members of the 2018 Executive Board:

Michael D. Barnello
President & CEO
LaSalle Hotel Properties

John P. Case
Realty Income Corporation

William P. Hankowsky
Chairman, President & CEO
Liberty Property Trust

Joel S. Marcus
Chairman, CEO & Founder
Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.

Christopher P. Marr
President & CEO

Jeffrey S. Olson
Chairman & CEO
Urban Edge Properties

Michael J. Schall
President & CEO
Essex Property Trust, Inc.

Doyle R. Simons
President & CEO

James D. Taiclet, Jr. 
Chairman, President & CEO
American Tower Corporation

Serving as Members of the 2018 Executive Board as Past Chairs:

Edward J. Fritsch
President & CEO
Highwoods Properties, Inc.     

Timothy J. Naughton
Chairman, CEO & President
AvalonBay Communities, Inc.

Elected as Members of 2018 Advisory Board of Governors:

Edward K. Aldag, Jr.
President & CEO
Medical Properties Trust Inc.

Andrew M. Alexander
President & CEO
Weingarten Realty Investors

Peter E. Baccile
President & CEO
First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.

William C. Bayless
American Campus Communities, Inc.

Albert P. Behler
Chairman, CEO & President
Paramount Group, Inc.

H. Eric Bolton, Jr.
Chairman & CEO

Byron L. Boston
CEO, President & Co-CIO
Dynex Capital, Inc.

Jon E. Bortz
Chairman & CEO
Pebblebrook Hotel Trust

Jay A. Brown
President & CEO
Crown Castle International Corp.

Stephen E. Budorick
President & CEO
Corporate Office Properties Trust

Richard J. Campo
Chairman & CEO
Camden Property Trust

James B. Connor
President & CEO
Duke Realty Corporation

Michael J. Covey
Chairman & CEO
Potlatch Corporation

Mark J. DeCesaris
W. P. Carey

Thomas J. DeRosa
Welltower Inc.

Gordon F. DuGan
Gramercy Property Trust

Conor C. Flynn
President & CEO
Kimco Realty Corporation

Philip L. Hawkins
President & CEO
DCT Industrial Trust Inc.

Maria R. Hawthorne
President & CEO
PS Business Parks, Inc.

David A. Helfand
President & CEO
Equity Commonwealth

Thomas M. Herzog
HCP, Inc.

Jackson Hsieh
CEO & President
Spirit Realty Capital

Eugene W. Landy
Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation

Paul T. McDermott
President & CEO
Washington REIT

William L. Meaney
President & CEO
Iron Mountain

E. Nelson Mills
Chairman & CEO
Columbia Property Trust

Marguerite M. Nader
President & CEO
Equity Lifestyle Properties, Inc.

Arlen D. Nordhagen
CEO, President & Chair
National Storage Affiliates

Scott D. Peters
Chairman, CEO & President
Healthcare Trust of America, Inc.

Paul A. Pittman
Executive Chairman, President & CEO 
Farmland Partners Inc.

Sean E. Reilly
Lamar Advertising Company

James F. Risoleo
President & CEO
Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc.

David L. Rogers
Life Storage, Inc.

Glenn J. Rufrano
President & CEO

Richard B. Saltzman
President & CEO
Colony NorthStar, Inc.

Bruce J. Schanzer
President & CEO
Cedar Realty Trust, Inc.

Wendy L. Simpson
Chairman, President & CEO
LTC Properties, Inc.

David P. Singelyn
CEO & Trustee
American Homes 4 Rent

Gerard H. Sweeney
President & CEO
Brandywine Realty Trust

Amy L. Tait
Executive Chairman & CIO
Broadstone Net Lease, Inc.

Robert S. Taubman
Chairman, President & CEO
Taubman Centers, Inc.

James M. Taylor, Jr.
CEO & President
Brixmor Property Group Inc.

John T. Thomas
President & CEO
Physicians Realty Trust

Thomas W. Toomey
President & CEO
UDR, Inc.

Julian E. Whitehurst
President & CEO
National Retail Properties, Inc.

Elected to serve on the 2018 Audit and Investment Committee:

James M. Taylor, Jr. (Chair)
CEO & President
Brixmor Property Group, Inc.

Maria R. Hawthorne
President & CEO
PS Business Parks

A. William Stein
(Ex-Officio, Nareit's Treasurer) CEO
Digital Realty

(Contact: Allison Shaw)

Get Nareit Developments blog posts delivered straight to your inbox.


Subscribe to the Developments Blog