11/08/2017 | by

WASHINGTON, D.C., Nov. 3 — Nareit today announced the election of its 2018 officers, as well as the members of its Executive Board, the organization’s governing board, and its Advisory Board of Governors.

Nareit’s new Chair is Thomas J. Baltimore, Chairman, President and CEO of Park Hotels & Resorts. Baltimore takes over from Nareit’s 2017 Chair, Timothy J. Naughton, Chairman and CEO of AvalonBay Communities, Inc.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve the REIT industry as Nareit’s 2018 Chair,” Baltimore said. My predecessors as Chair achieved a great deal on behalf of our industry, and I am looking forward to building on that platform to increase awareness of REITs – as a core allocation in investment portfolios, as an engine of job creation and growth for our communities, and as an important element of our economy.”

Other Nareit officers for 2018 are First Vice Chair Sandeep Mathrani, CEO, General Growth Properties, Inc.; Second Vice Chair Owen D. Thomas, CEO and Director, Boston Properties, Inc.; and Treasurer A. William Stein, CEO, Digital Realty Trust, Inc. All Nareit’s officers also are members of its Executive Board.

Also serving on Nareit’s 2018 Executive Board are: Michael D. Barnello, President and CEO, LaSalle Hotel Properties; John P. Case, CEO, Realty Income Corporation; Edward J. Fritsch, President and CEO, Highwoods Properties, Inc.; William P. Hankowsky, Chairman, President and CEO, Liberty Property Trust; Joel S. Marcus, Chairman, CEO and Founder, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.; Christopher P. Marr, President and CEO, CubeSmart; Timothy J. Naughton, Chairman and CEO, AvalonBay Communities, Inc.; Jeffrey S. Olson, Chairman and CEO, Urban Edge Properties; Michael J. Schall, President and CEO, Essex Property Trust; Doyle R. Simons, President and CEO, Weyerhaeuser; and James D. Taiclet, Jr., Chairman, President and CEO, American Tower Corporation.

Nareit also announced the members of its 2018 Advisory Board of Governors, who are selected by the Executive Board: Edward K. Aldag, Jr., President and CEO, Medical Properties Trust, Inc.; Andrew M. Alexander, President and CEO, Weingarten Realty Investors; Peter E. Baccile, President and CEO, First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.; William C. Bayless, CEO, American Campus Communities, Inc; Albert P. Behler, Chairman, CEO and President, Paramount Group, Inc.; H. Eric Bolton, Jr., Chairman and CEO, MAA; Byron L. Boston, CEO, President and Co-CIO, Dynex Capital, Inc.; Jon E. Bortz, Chairman and CEO, Pebblebrook Hotel Trust; Jay A. Brown, President and CEO, Crown Castle International Corp.; Stephen E. Budorick, President and CEO, Corporate Office Properties Trust; Richard J. Campo, Chairman and CEO, Camden Property Trust; James B. Connor, President and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation; Michael J. Covey, Chairman and CEO, Potlatch Corporation; Mark J. DeCesaris, CEO, W.P. Carey; Thomas J. DeRosa, CEO, Welltower, Inc.; Gordon F. DuGan, CEO, Gramercy Property Trust; Conor C. Flynn, President and CEO, Kimco Realty Corporation; Philip L. Hawkins, President and CEO, DCT Industrial Trust, Inc.; Maria R. Hawthorne, President and CEO, PS Business Parks, Inc.; David A. Helfand, President and CEO, Equity Commonwealth; Thomas M. Herzog, CEO, HCP, Inc.; Jackson Hsieh, CEO and President, Spirit Realty Capital; Eugene W. Landy, Chairman, Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation; Paul T. McDermott, President and CEO, Washington REIT; William L. Meaney, President and CEO, Iron Mountain; E. Nelson Mills, Chairman and CEO, Columbia Property Trust; Marguerite M. Nader, President and CEO, Equity Lifestyle Properties, Inc.; Arlen D. Nordhagen, CEO, President and Chair, National Storage Affiliates; Scott D. Peters, Chairman, CEO and President, Healthcare Trust of America, Inc.; Paul A. Pittman, Executive Chairman, President and CEO, Farmland Partners, Inc.; Sean E. Reilly, CEO, Lamar Advertising Company; James F. Risoleo, President and CEO, Host Hotels and Resorts, Inc.; David L. Rogers, CEO, Life Storage, Inc.; Glenn J. Rufrano, President and CEO, VEREIT, Inc.; Richard B. Saltzman, President and CEO, Colony NorthStar, Inc.; Bruce J. Schanzer, President and CEO, Cedar Realty Trust, Inc.; Wendy L. Simpson, Chairman, President and CEO, LTC Properties, Inc.; David P. Singelyn, CEO and Trustee, American Homes 4 Rent; Gerard H. Sweeney, President and CEO, Brandywine Realty Trust; Amy L. Tait, Executive Chairman and CIO, Broadstone Net Lease, Inc.; Robert S. Taubman, Chairman, President and CEO, Taubman Centers, Inc.; James M. Taylor, CEO and President, Brixmor Property Group, Inc.; John T. Thomas, President and CEO, Physicians Realty Trust; Thomas W. Toomey, President and CEO, UDR, Inc.; and Julian E. Whitehurst, President and CEO, National Retail Properties, Inc.

Serving on Nareit’s 2018 Audit and Investment Committee are: Committee Chair James M. Taylor, CEO and President, Brixmor Property Group, Inc.; Maria R. Hawthorne, President and CEO, PS Business Parks, Inc.; and A. William Stein, CEO, Digital Realty Trust, Inc., serving in an ex-officio capacity as Nareit’s 2018 Treasurer.

Get Nareit Media blog posts delivered straight to your inbox.