11/04/2019 | by

WASHINGTON, DC, Nov. 4—Nareit announced the election of its 2020 officers, the members of its Executive Board, the organization’s governing board, and its Advisory Board of Governors.


Nareit’s new chair is A. William Stein, CEO of Digital Realty. Stein takes over from Nareit’s 2019 chair, Sandeep Mathrani, CEO of Brookfield Properties Retail and vice chairman of Brookfield Properties.


“Serving the REIT industry and community as Nareit’s 2020 chair is an honor, and I am excited to build upon the significant work and accomplishments of my predecessors,” said Stein. “This year, we will continue the critical work of communicating with investors on the importance of REITs as a core allocation in investment portfolios, as an engine of job creation and growth for our communities, and as a key contributor to the overall health of our economy.”


Other Nareit officers for 2020 are: First Vice Chair Michael J. Schall, president and CEO of Essex Property Trust, Inc.; Second Vice Chair Maria R. Hawthorne, president and CEO of PS Business Parks, Inc.; and Treasurer James F. Risoleo, president and CEO of Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc. All Nareit officers are also members of the Nareit 2020 Executive Board.  


Also serving on Nareit’s 2020 Executive Board are: Thomas J. Baltimore, Jr., chairman, president, and CEO, Park Hotels & Resorts; James B. Connor, chairman and CEO, Duke Realty Corporation; Thomas M. Herzog, president and CEO, Healthpeak Properties, Inc.; W. Matthew Kelly, CEO, JBG SMITH; Christopher P. Marr, president and CEO, CubeSmart; Sandeep Mathrani, CEO, Brookfield Properties Retail and vice chairman, Brookfield Properties; Marguerite M. Nader, president and CEO, Equity Lifestyle Properties, Inc.; Jeffrey S. Olson, chairman and CEO, Urban Edge Properties; Lisa Palmer, president, Regency Centers Corporation; James D. Taiclet, Jr., chairman, president and CEO, American Tower Corporation; and Owen D. Thomas, CEO, Boston Properties, Inc.


Nareit also announced the members of its 2020 Advisory Board of Governors, who are selected by the Executive Board: Edward K. Aldag, Jr., chairman, president, and CEO, Medical Properties Trust Inc.; Peter E. Baccile, president and CEO, First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.; William C. Bayless, CEO, American Campus Communities, Inc.; Christopher J. Benjamin, president and CEO, Alexander & Baldwin, Inc.; H. Eric Bolton, Jr., chairman and CEO, MAA; Jon. E Bortz, chairman and CEO, Pebblebrook Hotel Trust; Byron L. Boston, CEO, president and co-CIO, Dynex Capital, Inc.; Jay A. Brown, president and CEO, Crown Castle International Corp.; Stephen E. Budorick, president and CEO, Corporate Office Properties Trust; Frank Cohen, senior managing director, Blackstone and chairman and CEO, Blackstone Real Estate Income Trust, Inc.; Victor J. Coleman, chairman and CEO, Hudson Pacific Properties, Inc.; Mark O. Decker, Jr., president and CEO, Investors Real Estate Trust; Thomas J. DeRosa, chairman and CEO, Welltower Inc.; Daniel M. DuPree, chairman and CEO, Preferred Apartment Communities, Inc.; Tamara D. Fischer, president and CFO, National Storage Affiliates; Conor C. Flynn, CEO, Kimco Realty Corporation; Jason E. Fox, CEO, W.P. Carey Inc.; Susan Givens, CEO, New Senior Investment Group; Greta Guggenheim, CEO, TPG RE Finance Trust, Inc.; Kenneth A. Gunderman, president and CEO, Uniti Group Inc.; Leslie D. Hale, president and CEO, RLJ Lodging Trust; William P. Hankowsky, chairman, president and CEO, Liberty Property Trust; David A. Helfand, president and CEO, Equity Commonwealth; Mary Hogan-Preusse, founder and principal, Sturgis Partners LLC; Jackson Hsieh, president and CEO, Spirit Realty Capital; Lisa L. Kaufman, managing director and global CEO, LaSalle Investment Management Securities; John B Kilroy, Jr., chairman, president, and CEO, Kilroy Realty Corporation; Michael P. Landy, president and CEO, Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation; Joseph D. Margolis, CEO, Extra Space Storage, Inc.; Anne Segrest McCulloch, president and CEO, Housing Partnership Equity Trust; Paul T. McDermott, president and CEO, WashREIT; William L. Meaney, president and CEO, Iron Mountain; Charles J. Meyers, CEO and president, Equinix, Inc.; Diane M. Morefield, EVP and CFO, CyrusOne Inc.; Jennifer W. Murphy, president and CEO, Western Asset Mortgage Capital Corporation; David L. Nunes, president and CEO, Rayonier Inc.; Mark J. Parrell, president and CEO, Equity Residential; Paul A. Pittman, executive chairman, president, and CEO, Farmland Partners; Sherry L. Rexroad, managing director - Global REITs, BlackRock; Sumit Roy, president and CEO, Realty Income Corporation; Glenn J. Rufrano, CEO, VEREIT, Inc.; Joseph D. Russell, Jr., president and CEO, Public Storage; Sherri W. Schugart, president and CEO, Hines Global Income Trust, Inc.; David J. Schulte, chairman, president and CEO, CorEnergy Infrastructure Trust; Wendy L. Simpson, chairman, CEO, and president, LTC Properties, Inc.; Devin W. Stockfish, president and CEO, Weyerhaeuser; Jeffrey A. Stoops, president and CEO, SBA Communications Corporation; Amy L. Tait, founder and chairman, Broadstone Net Lease, Inc.; Steven B. Tanger, CEO, Tanger Factory Outlet Centers, Inc.; Dallas B. Tanner, president and CEO, Invitation Homes; Robert S. Taubman, chairman, president, and CEO, Taubman Centers, Inc.; James M. Taylor, president and CEO, Brixmor Property Group Inc.; Christopher H. Volk, president and CEO, STORE Capital Corporation; Diane L. Wade, principal, CBRE Clarion Securities; Sarah J. Wade, managing director and co-portfolio manager, Nuveen Asset Management; and Julian E. Whitehurst, president and CEO, National Retail Properties, Inc.


Serving on Nareit’s 2020 Audit and Investment Committee are: Chair - Peter E. Baccile, president and CEO, First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.; Susan Givens, CEO, New Senior Investment Group; and James F. Risoleo, president and CEO, Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc.


Best Financial Practices Council and Accounting Committee Co-Chairs: Matthew DiLiberto, CFO, SL Green Realty Corporation.; Robert Meyer, Jr., SVP-finance and corporate controller, American Tower Corporation; and Lori Palazzolo, chief accounting officer, Prologis.


Dividends Through Diversity and Inclusion Initiative Steering Committee Co-Chairs: Mary Hogan-Preusse, founder and principal, Sturgis Partners LLC; Diane Morefield, EVP and CFO, CyrusOne Inc.; and Sherry L. Rexroad, managing director - Global REITs, BlackRock.


Government Relations Committee Co-Chairs: Kristin R. Myers, VP-Tax, Cousins Properties; Scott Winer, SVP-Tax, Park Hotels and Resorts; and Brian K. Wood, SVP and chief tax officer, Ventas, Inc.


Insurance Committee Chair: Michael D. Horvath, SVP- risk management, Simon Property Group.


mREIT Council Executive Committee Co-Chairs: Byron L. Boston, president, CEO, and co-CIO, Dynex Capital Inc.; and Phil Reinsch, president and CEO, Capstead Mortgage Corporation.


Multinational U.S. REIT Council Chair: Tom Olinger, CFO, Prologis.


Public Non-Listed REIT Council Executive Committee Chair: C. Allan Swaringen, president and CEO, JLL Income Property Trust.


Real Estate Investment Advisory Council Chair: Maria R. Hawthorne, president and CEO, PS Business Parks, Inc.


Real Estate Sustainability Council Chair: Mona Benisi, VP-corporate sustainability, Simon Property Group.

Get Nareit Media blog posts delivered straight to your inbox.


Subscribe to the Developments Blog